Skip to main content

UCAT and Universities

Which universities in Australia and New Zealand require UCAT for 2025 Medical / Dental Entry?

The UCAT ANZ is a compulsory entry requirement for our Australia and New Zealand Consortium universities.  You are required to sit the UCAT ANZ 2024 test (between 1 July and 9 August 2024) if you are intending to apply for entry in 2025 to a relevant course or programme listed below. UCAT ANZ results cannot be carried over from one year to the next.  For example, results from UCAT ANZ 2024 can only be used to apply for courses commencing in 2025.

Some pathways to medicine/dentistry/clinical sciences will not require the UCAT ANZ, or might have additional requirements. For example Casper Test is an extra requirement in addition to UCAT for Curtin University (medicine). Or Psychometric Test is used instead of the UCAT for entry into Bond University (medicine). For some applicants, a different test may be required. For example, international students might need to sit ISAT instead of UCAT. And some universities might accept UCAT instead of ISAT when applying to medical schools as an international student. Students should always check the entry requirements for each university and course they are intending to apply for. 

There are no general exemptions from the test. 


The University of Adelaide

Dental Surgery
Oral Health

Central Queensland University

Medical Science (Regional Medical Pathway provisional entry to UQ)

Charles Sturt University

Dental Science
Medicine (Joint Program in Medicine)

Curtin University


Flinders University

Clinical Sciences / Medicine

Griffith University

Dental Health Science

Monash University


The University of Newcastle / University of New England

Joint Medical Program

The University of New South Wales


University of Notre Dame Australia

Medicine Pathway (Sydney Campus)

The University of Queensland

Medicine (provisional entry pathway)
Dental Science

University of Southern Queensland

Medicine Pathway (provisional entry to UQ MD, Darling Downs-South West Medical Pathway)

University of Tasmania


The University of Western Australia

Doctor of Medicine via Bachelor of Biomedicine (Specialised)
Doctor of Dental Medicine via Bachelor of Biomedicine (Specialised)

Western Sydney University

Medicine (Joint Program in Medicine)


The University of Auckland


University of Otago


Universities that offer Undergraduate Medicine without the requirement for UCAT are: 

  • James Cook University (Medicine) - the selection is based on ATAR, Character References (letters of support), Interview. Read more...
  • Bond University (Medicine) - the selection is based on ATAR, Bond Psychometric Test, Interview. Read more...
  • University of Sydney (Medicine double degree) - an ATAR of 99.95 or equivalent is required. An assessment process including a written assessment followed by a panel discussion. Read more...

UCAT 2024 testing begins in...

We can help you succeed! Find out why NIE is the preferred and recommended UCAT and Medical Interview training provider.



Are you 100% UCAT-ready? 
Would you like an edge over other candidates?

 Start Your UCAT Training Today